Make your own free website on Tripod.com
My Personal Site
Home | GANDY DANCERS AND RAPPERS | Challenging Authority | CORPORAL PUNISHMENT | Does the observer affect the observed? | Dysgenics and Eugenics | EBONICS | LAUGHTER | RACIAL PROFILING | Remarks of Rev. Joseph Lowery at the funeral of Coretta S. King | FACTS & MYTHS | OLD BLACK SAYINGS | About Me | Favorite Links | Contact Me








About Me

My name is Vivian Elaine Whitfield-Mack; I was born on Sept. 5, 1953 to William and Mary Whitfield. My fathers’ job relocated him to Ohio when I was 2 years of age. I got sick while in Ohio. That is when my mother found out that I had Sickle Cell. My brother, who was 15 years old, also had Sickle Cell, but at the time my mother did not know why he was sick all the time.

My family moved back to Atlanta, and brought all my medical paper with us. My mother took me to Grady Hospital with all my medical paper work from Ohio. Grady is where I received all my treatments as a child.

When I started school in the kindergarten at Lena Jean Campbell. I was sick all the time, and had to miss school a lot. I attended G. W. Carver High School and graduated in 1971, with honors. I did not continue my education at that time.

I got a job with the Board of Education City of Atlanta. I worked for about 3 or 4 months, and was advised that they had to lay off some of the workers that were just hired. My health failed me at that time, so I was one of the people let go.

About a year later I was rehired with the Board of Education. After working about 2 years. I started going to college at night. I attended then Atlanta JR. College, now known as Atlanta Metro College. I had completed about a year and a half, when I changed jobs.

I got a job with the State of GA. Dept. of Corrections. I had to quit going to school due to my work schedule changing all the time. I was not told that I had to rotate shifts. I worked for about a year and a half; I got married and moved to Kansas with my husband who was in the Army.

I lived in Kansas until my husband was sent to Germany, at which time I returned to Atlanta, and I was with Child. My son was born on June 23, 1982. When Cedric was six months old I went back to work for the Stated of GA. For about a year. My husband was relocated to Hinesville GA.

Once again I was required to leave employment with the State of Georgia, to move with my husband. I lived in Hinesville GA. for about two years.

I kept in touch with some of my co-workers; and they told me about a position that would be open soon. Again I was rehired with the State of GA, working at Metro Transitional Center, I was at that location for about a year, and then transferred to the Probation Division. Where I am still employed.

Backpacker taking a drink; Size=180 pixels wide
Taking a break from work

What a job!
 

02/87 - Present Georgia Department Of Corrections Atlanta, GA

Surveillance Officer / Laboratory Technician

  • Conduct labor tests to detect prohibited drugs in urine
  • Tests unidentified samples from the America Association of Bioanalysts
  • Provide Counseling to offenders identified as being chemical abusers
  • Testify in court for lab- related subpoenas    
  • Participate in drug rehabilitation groups

I might describe my job in a little more detail here. I'll write about what I do, what I like best about it, and even some of the frustrations. (A job with frustrations? Hard to believe, huh?)

Favorites

Here's a list of some of my favorite movies:

Million Dollar Baby, Diary of a Mad Black Woman, Somethine New, E. T.

Some of my favorite singers:

Marvin Gaye, Luther Vandross, Al Green, Isley Brothers, Whitney Houston, Patty Labell, Tina Turner